jump to navigation

The toughest part of the Whiskey Off Road March 16, 2008

Posted by Dave Of Prescott in Adventure Recreation, Mountain Biking.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Several of us went on a training ride on what I consider the toughest part of the Whiskey Off Road course yesterday. We parked at the Aspen Trail Trailhead off Copper Basin Rd. and started up trail 48. It was very slow going for a bunch of reasons, We had to hike a bike (this area is generally a lot of hike a bike for me anyway) much more than usual, as I counted 17 pine trees down across the trail. It was also a bit more rocky than it is during the Whiskey.

This is all I can tell you about today as I had to stop at the top of the ridge and head up to Mt. Francis and down the road in order to make it to a noon wedding. Guys I am sorry that I couldn’t suffer through it with you!

I heard from one of the guys and he said:

It was a great ride indeed. Little hike-a-bike, lot of grinding and some brutal downhill into Copper Creek. I haven’t ridden that trail in years, but remembered right away how rocky the 260 on the south side of the ridge was. I think I saw on Hal’s trail profile that there was over 4700 ft. of elevation change.
Great ride topped off with a big greasy cheeseburger and beers!

