jump to navigation

Sunday Morning on Mingus September 29, 2008

Posted by Dave Of Prescott in Adventure Recreation, Mountain Biking, trails.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Early Sunday morning I drove out to my friend Pat’s house and we took a mountain bike ride from there.

He lives on the west side of the base of Mingus Mountain near Prescott.  We started on about a mile of pavement heading out of his housing development, then turned onto dirt two-track that headed directly toward (and UP) the mountain.  When we got into the juniper trees, we headed north along the flank of Mingus for a few miles.  This was typical two-track for this area, alternating between extrememly rocky and nice and smooth.  Finally we headed back to the west to form the 3rd side of an elongated rectangle, then blasted downhill back toward his house.

Pat doesn’t ride a lot, but he did great. 12.5 miles in about an hour and a half.

After we got back, we loaded up his kids and our wives and took a 4wd trip out to the Verde River for a picnic.  On the way out there, we were driving the FR318 (this was once a narrow gauge railroad) and who do I see mountain biking out in the middle of nowhere?  Steve Becker!  Steve had someone else with him, but I couldn’t tell who it was.

That reminds me, if I want to find out what the fastest time is likely to be on the GORD, I should ask Steve to come run it for me.

Comments

1. casio - September 30, 2008

nice article


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

