jump to navigation

Derailed by my Derailleur December 19, 2008

Posted by Dave Of Prescott in Adventure Recreation, Mountain Biking.
Tags: ,
trackback

The rear derailleur on my mountain bike has been acting up the last few weeks.  I took it to my LBS and they messed with it and finally showed me that the pivots on it are so wobbly that it jumps back and forth on the rear cog whenever I am applying some power ( I say power, but if you have ever seen my legs, you know that is an overstatement) to the pedals.  This has been a real drag, because when I am on a steep, and in a rythm it all of a sudden jumps down and shortly after the sound of mashing gears, I am at a near standstill.

Looking at it from the rear, I can see the amount of side to side play that the cage has due to the worn pivots.  Bummer.

Well I have ordered another Shimano Deore XT M750 long cage derailleur, and can’t wait to get this problem under control.

