jump to navigation

Biking Becomes Hiking December 29, 2008

Posted by Dave Of Prescott in Adventure Recreation, Day Hiking, Mountain Biking, trails.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

In the cold and snowy parts of the year, mountain biking gives way to hiking for my adventure recreation.

Most of the trails that I ride for 10 months of the year are now covered in snow and ice.  This makes for poor mountain biking conditions (for me at least).

So, in order to get outside and make an attempt to stay in shape, hiking is the order of the day.  Well, that and riding the spin bike at home.

Even in the snow, most every trail around Prescott is still hiking friendly.  Of course there are exceptions to every rule, but let’s not concentrate on them.

Within a 15 minute drive from downtown are miles and miles of great day hike trails.  And now with snow on the ground in the mountains, all the little creeks and drainages are running with crystal clear and icy cold water.  This makes for some great photographs and nice sound effects too.

So bundle up, put on your hiking shoes and get out there!  Its a winter wonderland.

Comments

1. Mint - January 20, 2009

Thank you for good information~~*

Please comeback to visit my blog too

Bye

2. wanderingjustin - December 31, 2008

I should be hiking right now … I have a new pack to break in, and I need some practice for my trip to New Zealand in a few months.

Prescott rocks. My brother used to live there, so I spent some time up there. Great riding, great hiking.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

